Try to HLT the processor during idle
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Mon, 18 May 2009 20:42:19 +0000 (13:42 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Mon, 18 May 2009 20:44:35 +0000 (13:44 -0700)
commit4826c90afd85d3bc8ee963de0bf1438340db865a
tree5975a83deef10ec240c35bcdafed5a168c49be55
parent208721a5fa25e5a12d31e7a51488bf5ea7e2a680
Try to HLT the processor during idle

Try to HLT the processor during idle.  All the events we care about
should have interrupts associated with them, except possibly the
serial console.  Try to deal with the serial console by waiting some
time before going into HLT, and giving the user the option of enabling
the serial console interrupt, on the assumption that the BIOS will
simply IRET.

Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
14 files changed:
NEWS
core/comboot.inc
core/conio.inc
core/extlinux.asm
core/idle.inc [new file with mode: 0644]
core/isolinux.asm
core/keywords
core/keywords.inc
core/ldlinux.asm
core/parseconfig.inc
core/pxeidle.inc
core/pxelinux.asm
core/ui.inc
doc/syslinux.txt