[makefile] Add support for multiple build platforms
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Tue, 7 Oct 2008 22:18:15 +0000 (23:18 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 01:17:25 +0000 (02:17 +0100)
commita2588547f913d5928f61ac30fd531a407925b4b5
tree5627c7133a446723d87a79f2565a3b15dacc9098
parentf0b942ef42d542a3411545831ce81d5ba54b2de5
[makefile] Add support for multiple build platforms

Allow for the build CPU architecture and platform to be specified as part
of the make command goals.  For example:

  make bin/rtl8139.rom      # Standard i386 PC-BIOS build

  make bin-efi/rtl8139.efi  # i386 EFI build

The generic syntax is "bin[-[arch-]platform]", with the default
architecture being "i386" (regardless of the host architecture) and the
default platform being "pcbios".

Non-path targets such as "srcs" can be specified using e.g.

  make bin-efi srcs

Note that this changeset is merely Makefile restructuring to allow the
build architecture and platform to be determined by the make command
goals, and to export these to compiled code via the ARCH and PLATFORM
defines.  It doesn't actually introduce any new build platforms.
src/Makefile
src/Makefile.housekeeping
src/arch/i386/Makefile