[pcbios] Fetch INT 15,e820 entry directly into our e820 cache
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Thu, 25 Sep 2008 17:45:30 +0000 (18:45 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Thu, 25 Sep 2008 17:52:49 +0000 (18:52 +0100)
commit3392cfa7df58a5662417f25226cf75dedabeb750
treeb0da133831c28120ee3e037098da490884072f80
parentfa880ec70a07f45048c7e3beec225634e8623de9
[pcbios] Fetch INT 15,e820 entry directly into our e820 cache

Some BIOSes require us to pass in not only the continuation value (in
%ebx) as returned by the previous call to INT 15,e820 but also the
unmodified buffer (at %es:%di) as returned by the previous call to INT
15,e820.  Apparently, someone thought it would be a worthwhile
optimisation to fill in only the low dword of the "length" field and
the low byte of the "type field", assuming that the buffer would
remain unaltered from the previous call.

This problem was being triggered by the "peek ahead" logic in
get_mangled_e820(), which would read the next entry into a temporary
buffer in order to be able to guarantee terminating the map with
%ebx=0 rather than CF=1.  (Terminating with CF=1 upsets some Windows
flavours, despite being documented legal behaviour.)

Work around this problem by always fetching directly into our e820
cache; that way we can guarantee that the underlying call always sees
the previous buffer contents (and the same buffer address).
src/arch/i386/firmware/pcbios/e820mangler.S