[compiler] Mark weak functions noinline
authorStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Jul 2010 07:32:48 +0000 (08:32 +0100)
committerStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Jul 2010 09:11:10 +0000 (10:11 +0100)
Weak functions whose visibility is hidden may be inlined due to a bug in
GCC.  Explicitly mark weak functions noinline to work around the
problem.

This makes the PXE_MENU config option work again, the PXE boot menu was
never being called because the compiler inlined a weak stub function.

The GCC bug was identified and fixed by Richard Sandiford
<rdsandiford@googlemail.com> but in the meantime gPXE needs to implement
a workaround.

Reported-by: Steve Jones <steve@squaregoldfish.co.uk>
Reported-by: Shao Miller <shao.miller@yrdsb.edu.on.ca>
Suggested-by: Joshua Oreman <oremanj@rwcr.net>
Signed-off-by: Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
src/include/compiler.h

index 8ccc69c..926308b 100644 (file)
@@ -181,8 +181,14 @@ REQUEST_EXPANDED ( CONFIG_SYMBOL );
 
 #ifndef ASSEMBLY
 
-/** Declare a function as weak (use *before* the definition) */
-#define __weak         __attribute__ (( weak ))
+/** Declare a function as weak (use *before* the definition)
+ *
+ * Due to a bug in at least GCC 4.4.4 and earlier, weak symbols may be inlined
+ * if they have hidden visibility (see above for why hidden visibility is
+ * used).  This results in the non-weak symbol never being used, so explicitly
+ * mark the function as noinline to prevent inlining.
+ */
+#define __weak         __attribute__ (( weak )) __attribute (( noinline ))
 
 #endif