[netdevice] Add netdev->link_rc field for errors encountered during link-up
authorJoshua Oreman <oremanj@xenon.get-linux.org>
Fri, 19 Jun 2009 09:04:38 +0000 (02:04 -0700)
committerJoshua Oreman <oremanj@xenon.get-linux.org>
Fri, 19 Jun 2009 09:33:14 +0000 (02:33 -0700)
commit4602299f4b96f7692766553d5972066dfd567b4e
treea87df6e3c4c457f86038632d8bd2d95a22ae1d91
parent8041741323b40d9f5c482d3c6e1391bee7be759d
[netdevice] Add netdev->link_rc field for errors encountered during link-up

For some link layers, such as 802.11 and IPoIB, link-up is an active process
that can fail for reasons more involved than a faulty cable. It is useful
in such cases to be able to inform the user about the particular failure
mode of the link. With this changeset, netdev_link_up() and netdev_link_down()
have the semantics of "no error occurred", and a new inline function
netdev_link_err() is added to set link-down with an error indication. A
positive link is always considered to be error-free.
src/include/gpxe/netdevice.h