[elf2efi] Improve error handling
authorGeoff Lywood <glywood@vmware.com>
Thu, 27 May 2010 00:04:12 +0000 (17:04 -0700)
committerJoshua Oreman <oremanj@rwcr.net>
Thu, 27 May 2010 00:58:07 +0000 (17:58 -0700)
Currently, if you attempt to build 64-bit EFI binaries on a 32-bit system
without a suitable cross-compiling version of libbfd.a, the gPXE build will
die with a segmentation fault in elf2efi64. This fix makes it die with a
slightly more useful error message.

Signed-off-by: Joshua Oreman <oremanj@rwcr.net>
src/util/elf2efi.c

index bb766bd..d93391a 100644 (file)
@@ -247,8 +247,9 @@ static bfd * open_input_bfd ( const char *filename ) {
        /* The call to bfd_check_format() must be present, otherwise
         * we get a segfault from later BFD calls.
         */
-       if ( bfd_check_format ( bfd, bfd_object ) < 0 ) {
-               eprintf ( "%s is not an object file\n", filename );
+       if ( ! bfd_check_format ( bfd, bfd_object ) ) {
+               eprintf ( "%s is not an object file: ", filename );
+               bfd_perror ( NULL );
                exit ( 1 );
        }