last_patch63 from vodz: add in crond and crontab applets
[people/mcb30/busybox.git] / docs / busybox_footer.pod
1 =back
2
3 =head1 LIBC NSS
4
5 GNU Libc uses the Name Service Switch (NSS) to configure the behavior of the C
6 library for the local environment, and to configure how it reads system data,
7 such as passwords and group information.  BusyBox has made it Policy that it
8 will never use NSS, and will never use and libc calls that make use of NSS.
9 This allows you to run an embedded system without the need for installing an
10 /etc/nsswitch.conf file and without and /lib/libnss_* libraries installed.
11
12 If you are using a system that is using a remote LDAP server for authentication
13 via GNU libc NSS, and you want to use BusyBox, then you will need to adjust the
14 BusyBox source.  Chances are though, that if you have enough space to install
15 of that stuff on your system, then you probably want the full GNU utilities.
16
17 =head1 SEE ALSO
18
19 textutils(1), shellutils(1), etc...
20
21 =head1 MAINTAINER
22
23 Erik Andersen <andersee@debian.org> <andersen@lineo.com>
24
25 =head1 AUTHORS
26
27 The following people have contributed code to BusyBox whether
28 they know it or not.
29
30
31 =for html <br>
32
33 Erik Andersen <andersen@lineo.com>, <andersee@debian.org>
34
35     Tons of new stuff, major rewrite of most of the
36     core apps, tons of new apps as noted in header files.
37
38 =for html <br>
39
40 John Beppu <beppu@lineo.com>
41
42     du, head, nslookup, sort, tee, uniq (so Kraai could rewrite them ;-),
43     documentation
44
45 =for html <br>
46
47 Edward Betts <edward@debian.org>
48
49     expr, hostid, logname, tty, wc, whoami, yes
50  
51 =for html <br>
52
53 Brian Candler <B.Candler@pobox.com>
54
55     tiny-ls(ls)
56
57 =for html <br>
58
59 Randolph Chung <tausq@debian.org>
60
61     fbset, ping, hostname, and mkfifo
62
63 =for html <br>
64
65 Dave Cinege <dcinege@psychosis.com>     
66
67     more(v2), makedevs, dutmp, modularization, auto links file, 
68     various fixes, Linux Router Project maintenance
69
70 =for html <br>
71
72 Larry Doolittle <ldoolitt@recycle.lbl.gov>
73
74     various fixes, shell rewrite
75
76 =for html <br>
77
78 Karl M. Hegbloom <karlheg@debian.org>
79
80     cp_mv.c, the test suite, various fixes to utility.c, &c.
81
82 =for html <br>
83
84 Sterling Huxley <sterling@europa.com>
85
86     vi (!!!)
87
88 =for html <br>
89
90 Daniel Jacobowitz <dan@debian.org>
91
92     mktemp.c
93
94 =for html <br>
95
96 Matt Kraai <kraai@alumni.carnegiemellon.edu>
97
98     documentation, bugfixes
99
100 =for html <br>
101
102 John Lombardo <john@deltanet.com>       
103
104     dirname, tr
105
106 =for html <br>
107
108 Glenn McGrath <bug1@netconnect.com.au>
109
110     ar.c
111
112 =for html <br>
113
114 Vladimir Oleynik <dzo@simtreas.ru>
115
116     cmdedit; ports: ash, crond, stty, traceroute, telnetd, top;
117     locale, various fixes
118     and irreconcilable critic of everything not perfect.
119
120 =for html <br>
121
122 Bruce Perens <bruce@pixar.com>
123
124     Original author of BusyBox. His code is still in many apps.
125
126 =for html <br>
127
128 Chip Rosenthal <chip@unicom.com>, <crosenth@covad.com>
129
130     wget - Contributed by permission of Covad Communications
131
132 =for html <br>
133
134 Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>
135
136     Lots of bugs fixes and patches.
137
138 =for html <br>
139
140 Gyepi Sam <gyepi@praxis-sw.com>
141
142     Remote logging feature for syslogd
143
144 =for html <br>
145
146 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@transmeta.com>
147
148     mkswap, fsck.minix, mkfs.minix
149
150 =for html <br>
151
152 Mark Whitley <markw@lineo.com>
153
154     sed remix, bug fixes, style-guide, etc.
155
156 =for html <br>
157
158 Charles P. Wright <cpwright@villagenet.com>
159
160     gzip, mini-netcat(nc)
161
162 =for html <br>
163
164 Enrique Zanardi <ezanardi@ull.es>
165
166     tarcat (since removed), loadkmap, various fixes, Debian maintenance
167
168 =cut
169
170 # $Id: busybox_footer.pod,v 1.7 2002/10/22 12:24:56 andersen Exp $