move the ifdef to after libbb.h include, so it can do some good.
[people/mcb30/busybox.git] / docs / busybox_footer.pod
1 =back
2
3 =head1 LIBC NSS
4
5 GNU Libc (glibc) uses the Name Service Switch (NSS) to configure the behavior
6 of the C library for the local environment, and to configure how it reads
7 system data, such as passwords and group information.  This is implemented
8 using an /etc/nsswitch.conf configuration file, and using one or more of the
9 /lib/libnss_* libraries.  BusyBox tries to avoid using any libc calls that make
10 use of NSS.  Some applets however, such as login and su, will use libc functions
11 that require NSS.
12
13 If you enable CONFIG_USE_BB_PWD_GRP, BusyBox will use internal functions to
14 directly access the /etc/passwd, /etc/group, and /etc/shadow files without
15 using NSS.  This may allow you to run your system without the need for
16 installing any of the NSS configuration files and libraries.
17
18 When used with glibc, the BusyBox 'networking' applets will similarly require
19 that you install at least some of the glibc NSS stuff (in particular,
20 /etc/nsswitch.conf, /lib/libnss_dns*, /lib/libnss_files*, and /lib/libresolv*).
21
22 Shameless Plug: As an alternative, one could use a C library such as uClibc.  In
23 addition to making your system significantly smaller, uClibc does not require the
24 use of any NSS support files or libraries.
25
26 =head1 MAINTAINER
27
28 Erik Andersen <andersen@codepoet.org>
29
30 =head1 AUTHORS
31
32 The following people have contributed code to BusyBox whether they know it or
33 not.  If you have written code included in BusyBox, you should probably be
34 listed here so you can obtain your bit of eternal glory.  If you should be
35 listed here, or the description of what you have done needs more detail, or is
36 incorect, please send in an update.
37
38
39 =for html <br>
40
41 Emanuele Aina <emanuele.aina@tiscali.it>
42         run-parts
43
44 =for html <br>
45
46 Erik Andersen <andersen@codepoet.org>
47
48     Tons of new stuff, major rewrite of most of the
49     core apps, tons of new apps as noted in header files.
50     Lots of tedious effort writing these boring docs that
51     nobody is going to actually read.
52
53 =for html <br>
54
55 Laurence Anderson <l.d.anderson@warwick.ac.uk>
56
57     rpm2cpio, unzip, get_header_cpio, read_gz interface, rpm
58
59 =for html <br>
60
61 Jeff Angielski <jeff@theptrgroup.com>
62
63     ftpput, ftpget
64
65 =for html <br>
66
67 Edward Betts <edward@debian.org>
68
69     expr, hostid, logname, whoami
70
71 =for html <br>
72
73 John Beppu <beppu@codepoet.org>
74
75     du, nslookup, sort
76
77 =for html <br>
78
79 Brian Candler <B.Candler@pobox.com>
80
81     tiny-ls(ls)
82
83 =for html <br>
84
85 Randolph Chung <tausq@debian.org>
86
87     fbset, ping, hostname
88
89 =for html <br>
90
91 Dave Cinege <dcinege@psychosis.com>
92
93     more(v2), makedevs, dutmp, modularization, auto links file,
94     various fixes, Linux Router Project maintenance
95
96 =for html <br>
97
98 Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>
99
100         ipcalc
101
102 =for html <br>
103
104 Magnus Damm <damm@opensource.se>
105
106     tftp client insmod powerpc support
107
108 =for html <br>
109
110 Larry Doolittle <ldoolitt@recycle.lbl.gov>
111
112     pristine source directory compilation, lots of patches and fixes.
113
114 =for html <br>
115
116 Glenn Engel <glenne@engel.org>
117
118     httpd
119
120 =for html <br>
121
122 Gennady Feldman <gfeldman@gena01.com>
123
124     Sysklogd (single threaded syslogd, IPC Circular buffer support,
125     logread), various fixes.
126
127 =for html <br>
128
129 Karl M. Hegbloom <karlheg@debian.org>
130
131     cp_mv.c, the test suite, various fixes to utility.c, &c.
132
133 =for html <br>
134
135 Daniel Jacobowitz <dan@debian.org>
136
137     mktemp.c
138
139 =for html <br>
140
141 Matt Kraai <kraai@alumni.cmu.edu>
142
143     documentation, bugfixes, test suite
144
145 =for html <br>
146
147 Stephan Linz <linz@li-pro.net>
148
149         ipcalc, Red Hat equivalence
150
151 =for html <br>
152
153 John Lombardo <john@deltanet.com>
154
155     tr
156
157 =for html <br>
158
159 Glenn McGrath <bug1@iinet.net.au>
160
161     Common unarchving code and unarchiving applets, ifupdown, ftpgetput,
162     nameif, sed, patch, fold, install, uudecode.
163     Various bugfixes, review and apply numerous patches.
164
165 =for html <br>
166
167 Manuel Novoa III <mjn3@codepoet.org>
168
169     cat, head, mkfifo, mknod, rmdir, sleep, tee, tty, uniq, usleep, wc, yes,
170     mesg, vconfig, make_directory, parse_mode, dirname, mode_string,
171     get_last_path_component, simplify_path, and a number trivial libbb routines
172
173     also bug fixes, partial rewrites, and size optimizations in
174     ash, basename, cal, cmp, cp, df, du, echo, env, ln, logname, md5sum, mkdir,
175     mv, realpath, rm, sort, tail, touch, uname, watch, arith, human_readable,
176     interface, dutmp, ifconfig, route
177
178 =for html <br>
179
180 Vladimir Oleynik <dzo@simtreas.ru>
181
182     cmdedit; xargs(current), httpd(current);
183     ports: ash, crond, fdisk, inetd, stty, traceroute, top;
184     locale, various fixes
185     and irreconcilable critic of everything not perfect.
186
187 =for html <br>
188
189 Bruce Perens <bruce@pixar.com>
190
191     Original author of BusyBox in 1995, 1996. Some of his code can
192     still be found hiding here and there...
193
194 =for html <br>
195
196 Tim Riker <Tim@Rikers.org>
197
198     bug fixes, member of fan club
199
200 =for html <br>
201
202 Kent Robotti <robotti@metconnect.com>
203
204     reset, tons and tons of bug reports and patches.
205
206 =for html <br>
207
208 Chip Rosenthal <chip@unicom.com>, <crosenth@covad.com>
209
210     wget - Contributed by permission of Covad Communications
211
212 =for html <br>
213
214 Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>
215
216     Lots of bugs fixes and patches.
217
218 =for html <br>
219
220 Gyepi Sam <gyepi@praxis-sw.com>
221
222     Remote logging feature for syslogd
223
224 =for html <br>
225
226 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@transmeta.com>
227
228     mkswap, fsck.minix, mkfs.minix
229
230 =for html <br>
231
232 Mark Whitley <markw@codepoet.org>
233
234     grep, sed, cut, xargs(previous),
235     style-guide, new-applet-HOWTO, bug fixes, etc.
236
237 =for html <br>
238
239 Charles P. Wright <cpwright@villagenet.com>
240
241     gzip, mini-netcat(nc)
242
243 =for html <br>
244
245 Enrique Zanardi <ezanardi@ull.es>
246
247     tarcat (since removed), loadkmap, various fixes, Debian maintenance
248
249 =for html <br>
250
251 Tito Ragusa <farmatito@tiscali.it>
252
253         devfsd and size optimizations in strings, openvt and deallocvt.
254
255 =cut
256
257 # $Id: busybox_footer.pod,v 1.18 2004/04/25 06:05:14 bug1 Exp $
258