[makefile] Avoid using ?=
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Mon, 29 Sep 2008 20:48:51 +0000 (13:48 -0700)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Tue, 30 Sep 2008 20:53:34 +0000 (21:53 +0100)
?= in a Makefile means that that variable can be overridden by the
environment.  This is confusing to users, especially with a generic
name like "ARCH".

Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
src/Makefile
src/Makefile.housekeeping

index 474e8cf..40906a8 100644 (file)
@@ -71,7 +71,7 @@ noargs : blib $(BIN)/NIC $(BIN)/gpxe.dsk $(BIN)/gpxe.iso $(BIN)/gpxe.usb $(BIN)/
 # If no architecture is specified in Config or on the command-line,
 # use that of the build machine.
 #
-ARCH           ?= $(shell uname -m | sed -e s,i[3456789]86,i386,)
+ARCH           := $(shell uname -m | sed -e s,i[3456789]86,i386,)
 
 # handle x86_64 like i386, but set -m32 option for 32bit code only
 ifeq ($(ARCH),x86_64)
@@ -98,7 +98,7 @@ LDFLAGS               += $(EXTRA_LDFLAGS)
 
 # Embedded image, if present
 #
-EMBEDDED_IMAGE ?= /dev/null
+EMBEDDED_IMAGE  = /dev/null
 
 ifneq ($(NO_WERROR),1)
 CFLAGS         += -Werror
index 69d8af6..aafd7d7 100644 (file)
@@ -58,16 +58,16 @@ ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_TAB         := $(shell $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO) '\t')
 ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_E_TAB  := $(shell $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_E) '\t')
 
 ifeq ($(ECHO_E_ECHO_TAB),$(TAB))
-ECHO_E         ?= $(ECHO_E_ECHO)
+ECHO_E         := $(ECHO_E_ECHO)
 endif
 ifeq ($(ECHO_E_ECHO_E_TAB),$(TAB))
-ECHO_E         ?= $(ECHO_E_ECHO_E)
+ECHO_E         := $(ECHO_E_ECHO_E)
 endif
 ifeq ($(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_TAB),$(TAB))
-ECHO_E         ?= $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO)
+ECHO_E         := $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO)
 endif
 ifeq ($(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_E_TAB),$(TAB))
-ECHO_E         ?= $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_E)
+ECHO_E         := $(ECHO_E_BIN_ECHO_E)
 endif
 
 .echocheck :