[zbin] Change fixup semantics to support ROMs over 128k uncompressed
authorJoshua Oreman <oremanj@rwcr.net>
Mon, 10 Aug 2009 05:12:21 +0000 (22:12 -0700)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Tue, 11 Aug 2009 11:59:26 +0000 (12:59 +0100)
commitd5d68b2e310b8bf0caa6b8529f1ce7adbb92e771
tree520a11c84f5542fbc26fb8ad0b0464432f951305
parent487347a0cdf10a4fabe295abb6d68487083d1aba
[zbin] Change fixup semantics to support ROMs over 128k uncompressed

The option ROM header contains a one-byte field indicating the number
of 512-byte sectors in the ROM image.  Currently it is linked to
contain the number of uncompressed sectors, with an instruction to the
compressor to correct it.  This causes link failure when the
uncompressed size of the ROM image is over 128k.

Fix by replacing the SUBx compressor fixup with an ADDx fixup that
adds the total compressed output length, scaled as requested, to an
addend stored in the field where the final length value will be
placed.  This is similar to the behavior of ELF relocations, and
ensures that an overflow error will not be generated unless the
compressed size is still too large for the field.

This also allows us to do away with the _filesz_pgh and _filesz_sect
calculations exported by the linker script.

Output tested bitwise identical to the old SUBx mechanism on hd, dsk,
lkrn, and rom prefixes, on both 32-bit and 64-bit processors.

Modified-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
src/arch/i386/prefix/dskprefix.S
src/arch/i386/prefix/hdprefix.S
src/arch/i386/prefix/lkrnprefix.S
src/arch/i386/prefix/nbiprefix.S
src/arch/i386/prefix/romprefix.S
src/arch/i386/scripts/i386.lds
src/util/zbin.c