[netdevice] Separate out the concept of hardware and link-layer addresses
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Tue, 11 Aug 2009 19:19:53 +0000 (20:19 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@etherboot.org>
Tue, 11 Aug 2009 23:19:14 +0000 (00:19 +0100)
commit37a0aab4ff2c86f4d109d4cd479535be97d07a94
tree5a2f06a22cf2c647b36d254fc1699072c3c88392
parentb3db99a38d8822f29eae6f67ee6034c57284d06f
[netdevice] Separate out the concept of hardware and link-layer addresses

The hardware address is an intrinsic property of the hardware, while
the link-layer address can be changed at runtime.  This separation is
exposed via APIs such as PXE and EFI, but is currently elided by gPXE.

Expose the hardware and link-layer addresses as separate properties
within a net device.  Drivers should now fill in hw_addr, which will
be used to initialise ll_addr at the time of calling
register_netdev().
22 files changed:
src/arch/i386/drivers/net/undinet.c
src/arch/i386/interface/pxe/pxe_undi.c
src/drivers/net/3c90x.c
src/drivers/net/b44.c
src/drivers/net/e1000/e1000.c
src/drivers/net/etherfabric.c
src/drivers/net/ipoib.c
src/drivers/net/legacy.c
src/drivers/net/mtnic.c
src/drivers/net/natsemi.c
src/drivers/net/phantom/phantom.c
src/drivers/net/pnic.c
src/drivers/net/r8169.c
src/drivers/net/rtl8139.c
src/drivers/net/rtl818x/rtl818x.c
src/drivers/net/sky2.c
src/include/gpxe/netdevice.h
src/interface/efi/efi_snp.c
src/net/80211/net80211.c
src/net/netdevice.c
src/usr/dhcpmgmt.c
src/usr/ifmgmt.c