[romprefix] Remove .xrom prefix
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Mon, 19 Apr 2010 19:32:25 +0000 (20:32 +0100)
committerStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
Wed, 7 Jul 2010 19:14:35 +0000 (20:14 +0100)
commit97bc233becbee3099046bbad2a0b16c827eb5259
treecf5cd1f250cb4834dcdba9065081d11a15f9a714
parent1a8e24cbfdbd48221a419dd00ef1b108a52c29f7
[romprefix] Remove .xrom prefix

The .xrom prefix provides an experimental mechanism for loading ROM
images greater than 64kB in size by mapping the expansion ROM BAR in
at a hopefully-unused address.  This is unreliable, and potentially
dangerous.  In particular, there is no guarantee that any PCI bridges
between the CPU and the device will respond to accesses for the
"unused" memory region that is chosen, and it is possible that the
process of scanning for the "unused" memory region may end up issuing
reads to other PCI devices.  If this ends up trampling on a register
with read side-effects belonging to an unrelated PCI device, this may
cause undefined behaviour.

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Signed-off-by: Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
src/Makefile.housekeeping
src/arch/i386/Makefile.pcbios
src/arch/i386/prefix/romprefix.S
src/arch/i386/prefix/xromprefix.S [deleted file]
src/arch/i386/scripts/i386.lds
src/util/makerom.pl