[802.11] Allow connecting to spectrum managed networks
authorJoshua Oreman <oremanj@rwcr.net>
Sun, 29 Nov 2009 19:12:00 +0000 (14:12 -0500)
committerMarty Connor <mdc@etherboot.org>
Tue, 5 Jan 2010 15:16:25 +0000 (10:16 -0500)
Contrary to the IEEE specification, some access points apparently
set the Spectrum Mgmt bit in the capabilities field even when
broadcasting on a 2.4GHz band that does not require spectrum
management. Allow gPXE to attempt to connect to such networks;
if spectrum management is really required, our advertisement
of capabilities not including it will result in an association
failure.

Reported-by: Peter Meyer <residue@xmail.net>
Signed-off-by: Marty Connor <mdc@etherboot.org>
src/net/80211/net80211.c

index aa14196..1c54597 100644 (file)
@@ -1026,12 +1026,6 @@ static int net80211_process_capab ( struct net80211_device *dev,
                return -ENOSYS;
        }
 
                return -ENOSYS;
        }
 
-       if ( capab & IEEE80211_CAPAB_SPECTRUM_MGMT ) {
-               DBGC ( dev, "802.11 %p cannot handle spectrum managed "
-                      "network\n", dev );
-               return -ENOSYS;
-       }
-
        dev->phy_flags &= ~( NET80211_PHY_USE_SHORT_PREAMBLE |
                             NET80211_PHY_USE_SHORT_SLOT );
 
        dev->phy_flags &= ~( NET80211_PHY_USE_SHORT_PREAMBLE |
                             NET80211_PHY_USE_SHORT_SLOT );