[virtio-net] Fix kick/wait logic
authorEduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 20:02:33 +0000 (17:02 -0300)
committerStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 Oct 2008 19:39:33 +0000 (20:39 +0100)
The virtnet_transmit() logic for waiting the packet to be transmitted is
reversed: we can't wait the packet to be transmitted if we didn't kick()
the ring yet. The vring_more_used() while loop logic is reversed also,
that explains why the code works today.

The current code risks trying to free a buffer from the used ring
when none was available, that will happen most times because KVM
doesn't handle the packet immediately on kick(). Luckily it was working
because it was unlikely to have a buffer still queued for transmit when
virtnet_transmit() was called.

Also, adds a BUG_ON() to vring_get_buf(), to catch cases where we try
to free a buffer from the used ring when there was none available.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
src/drivers/net/virtio-net.c

index 9ad77ab..b99c93b 100644 (file)
@@ -189,6 +189,8 @@ static int vring_get_buf(int queue_index, unsigned int *len)
    u32 id;
    int ret;
 
+   BUG_ON(!vring_more_used(queue_index));
+
    elem = &vr->used->ring[last_used_idx[queue_index] % vr->num];
    wmb();
    id = elem->id;
@@ -368,6 +370,8 @@ static void virtnet_transmit(struct nic *nic, const char *destaddr,
 
    vring_add_buf(TX_INDEX, 0, 0);
 
+   vring_kick(nic, TX_INDEX, 1);
+
    /*
     * http://www.etherboot.org/wiki/dev/devmanual
     *
@@ -375,14 +379,12 @@ static void virtnet_transmit(struct nic *nic, const char *destaddr,
     *    before returning from this routine"
     */
 
-   while (vring_more_used(TX_INDEX)) {
+   while (!vring_more_used(TX_INDEX)) {
            mb();
            udelay(10);
            poll_interruptions();
    }
 
-   vring_kick(nic, TX_INDEX, 1);
-
    /* free desc */
 
    (void)vring_get_buf(TX_INDEX, NULL);