[virtio-net] Fix kick/wait logic
authorEduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 20:02:33 +0000 (17:02 -0300)
committerStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 Oct 2008 19:39:33 +0000 (20:39 +0100)
commita4eb25f0642939060a20ed67917ab34783a5f110
tree7c6a16e093c7917cb34e66cad13462a7504ee067
parent5731a1f7046475eb6baecc9314dbd9f81d413152
[virtio-net] Fix kick/wait logic

The virtnet_transmit() logic for waiting the packet to be transmitted is
reversed: we can't wait the packet to be transmitted if we didn't kick()
the ring yet. The vring_more_used() while loop logic is reversed also,
that explains why the code works today.

The current code risks trying to free a buffer from the used ring
when none was available, that will happen most times because KVM
doesn't handle the packet immediately on kick(). Luckily it was working
because it was unlikely to have a buffer still queued for transmit when
virtnet_transmit() was called.

Also, adds a BUG_ON() to vring_get_buf(), to catch cases where we try
to free a buffer from the used ring when there was none available.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@gmail.com>
src/drivers/net/virtio-net.c